Spirit Award Winners 
Saturday, March 3, 2018 at 5:43PM
NATHANIEL R in Get Out, Oscars (17), Spirit Awards, precursor awards

by Nathaniel R

Get Out won Feature and Director at the Spirit Awards (but no other prizes)

The headline prizes
BEST FEMALE LEAD Frances McDormand “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”
BEST MALE LEAD Timothée Chalamet “Call Me by Your Name”
BEST SUPPORTING FEMALE Allison Janney “I, Tonya”
BEST SUPPORTING MALE Sam Rockwell “Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri”
BEST DIRECTOR Jordan Peele “Get Out”
BEST SCREENPLAY Greta Gerwig “Lady Bird”

It says a lot about the intrinsic problems of awards season and rampant conformity that even at the Spirits they aren't willing to budge from the Oscar frontrunners, except when they're forced to (Gary Oldman wasn't eligible here so we happily get one big Timothée win)...

But it seems crazy and sad that even here Saoirse Ronan and Laurie Metcalf can't win for Lady Bird! Spread the wealth a little, people, my god. If every single televised group is the same why are there so many televised groups?!?

More after the jump...

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY Sayombhu Mukdeeprom “Call Me by Your Name”
BEST EDITING Tatiana S. Riegel “I, Tonya”
BEST DOCUMENTARY “Faces Places” Directors: Agnés Varda, JR Producer: Rosalie Varda

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD (THEIR ENSEMBLE AWARD) – “Mudbound” Director: Dee Rees; Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram; Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, and Carey Mulligan

Their prizes for small or first films, grants, and emerging directors...

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – (FEATURES WITH BUDGET UNDER HALF MILLION)  “Life and Nothing More” Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza; Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández, and Pedro Hernández Santos
PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – Summer Shelton, Giulia Caruso & Ki Jin Kim, Ben LeClair
JEEP TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD–  Jonathan Olshefski Director of “Quest”
BEST FIRST SCREENPLAY Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani “The Big Sick”
KIEHL’S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD -Justin Chon Director of “Gook”
BEST FIRST FEATURE “Ingrid Goes West” Director: Matt Spicer; Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza, Tim White, Trevor White

Article originally appeared on The Film Experience (http://thefilmexperience.net/).
See website for complete article licensing information.