Film Bitch History
Oscar History

The Film Experience™ was created by Nathaniel R. Gemini, Cinephile, Actressexual. All material herein is written and copyrighted by Nathaniel or a member of our team as noted.


Powered by Squarespace
Don't Miss This!

Review: Ready or Not

Comment Fun

Yes Not Maybe So: Bombshell

" I am not liking this trend of portraits of terrible women, like Meghan and Phyliss Schafly, unless it's camp." - Jane

"Miss Charlize is like, "Do I need to remind you guys again who is the baddest bitch around here?." I just can'ttttt! She looks like Megan Kelly's twin -- that makeup work is insanity!!!" - Jono

"if Nicole doesn't wear a bad wig in a it really a must see event?" -Chris

Keep TFE Strong

We're looking for 500... no 461 Patron SaintsIf you read us daily, please be one.  Your suscription dimes make an enormous difference. Consider...

I ♥ The Film Experience



Directors of For Sama

Lulu Wang (The Farewell)
Ritesh Batra (Photograph)
Schmidt & Abrantes (Diamantino)
Wanuri Kahiu (Rafiki)
Jia Zhang-ke (Ash is Purest White)

What'cha Looking For?
« Team Experience Oscar Reax Pt 2: Good Times, Speech Writers, and Noticeable Absences | Main | Should Acceptance Speeches Reflect the Achievements They're Honored For? »

The 2019 Cannes President is... Iñárritu

Iñárritu winning Best Director at Cannes in 2006.Now that Oscar season is winding down, tuxes/jewels returned, post-mortems wrapping up, we must start looking forward. The first big post Oscar event of the film year, that's not a film opening that is, is of course the Cannes Film Festival (May 14th-25th). They've now announced this year's jury president. It's none other than four-time Oscar winner Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman, Babel, The Revenant, Amores Perros) continuing Oscar's obsessive “¡Viva México!”  theme, with five of the last six directing Oscars going to Mexican filmmakers.

Iñárritu succeeds Cate Blanchett, 2018's Jury President. Though its common for film directors to preside, he's the first Mexican ever chosen to preside (the last Mexican on the jury was Gael García Bernal in 2014). He previously won Best Director at Cannes for Babel (2006) and also brought Amores Perros (2000) and Biutiful (2010) to the festival. 

But who will his jury be? Last year's jury had more women than men which is unusual for Cannes (it's only happened 3 times in history) and there's no topping that jury for sheer collective style. But it'll be exciting to see who joins Iñárritu, nonetheless.

Here are the 12 most recent presidents and the Palme D'or winner they selected
* = then Oscar nominated for Best Picture / † = then Oscar nominated for Foreign Film


  • 2018 Cate Blanchett (Australia) / Shoplifters† (Japan)
  • 2017 Pedro Almodóvar (Spain) / The Square† (Sweden)
  • 2016 George Miller (Australia) / I, Daniel Blake (UK)
  • 2015 Joel & Ethan Coen (US) / Dheepan (France)
  • 2014 Jane Campion (New Zealand) / Winter Sleep (Turkey)
  • 2013 Steven Spielberg (US) / Blue is the Warmest Color (France)
  • 2012 Nanni Moretti (Italy) / Amour*† (Austria)
  • 2011 Robert De Niro (US) / The Tree of Life* (US)
  • 2010 Tim Burton (US) / Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives (Thailand)
  • 2009 Isabelle Huppert (France) / The White Ribbon† (Austria)
  • 2008 Sean Penn (US) / The Class† (France)
  • 2007 Stephen Frears (UK) / 4 Months, 3 Weeks, and 2 Days (Romania)


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (10)

Latin American movies need to be rediscovered besides the three amigos.

February 27, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterJust saying

Some of these Palm D’ors winners are superb! The three last ones are marvellous!

Let’s hope the films are great and let’s hope that Iñarritu and his jury follow the level of quality!

February 27, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterMarcelo - Brazil

Oh no- he is so pretentious and over rated

February 27, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterJaragon

Good news for Pedro.

February 27, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterPeggy Sue

The George Miller/ Coens juries were so so embarassing, hoping AGI can surprise.

February 27, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterJows

Every time a "Three Amigos" was in the Cannes jury, the Palme went to a French film :)
2008: Alfonso Cuarón: "The Class"
2015: Guillermo del Toro: "Dheepan"

February 28, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterCharlie

Nathaniel, some of your indicators are mixed-up, it should go like this:
The Square†
The Tree of Life*

February 28, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterCharlie

Charlie -- it looks like I put the exact opposite of my key, LOL. Fixed. (i'm so tired. haha)

February 28, 2019 | Registered CommenterNATHANIEL R

I'm thinking Yorgos Lanthimos and Emma Stone join the Jury.

February 28, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterTyler

@Just saying

Absolutely YES. As mexican myself i wish people know more mexican/latinamerican directors and not just the ones who work in Hollywood.They are who give much richness to the art in my opinion.

March 2, 2019 | Unregistered CommenterCésar Gaytán

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>